The Tale of the Marietta Cobb Museum of Art
Art comes in all shapes, sizes, styles, and colors and gives the viewer something to contemplate and adore just through the simple act of looking. Luckily for us here in Marietta, the Marietta Cobb Museum of Art gives everyone a chance to admire historic paintings, as well as make some of their own. However, the building housing the museum wasn’t built for this exact purpose.
On March 14, 1910, the building first opened as the Cobb County United States Post Office, and for several decades, it served as the central post office for the city.
Then, in 1963, the main branch of the Cobb County Marietta Public Library moved into the building. The building then housed the library for the next 26 years, until the main branch relocated to a brand-new building on Roswell Street.
During this time, a group formerly called the Marietta Women’s Club became known as the Fine Arts Club of Marietta, and in 1970, the members of this club became the sole proprietors of the Clarke Library. A little over 10 years later, the club changed its name again to the Marietta Cobb Fine Arts Center. Shortly after the club was approved as a nonprofit organization, it began to work toward developing an art museum. By April 5, 1990, the Marietta Cobb Fine Arts Center changed its name a final time to the Marietta Cobb Museum of Art and took up residence in the former post office building.
Since then, the museum has housed many incredible art exhibits and encouraged hundreds of kids and adults alike to nurture their own passion for art. With a focus on American Art, people can explore this wonderful space and gaze upon works of art, both new and old. To keep up to date with their latest events and exhibits, visit their website at MariettaCobbArtMuseum.org.