Sign Up For Our Newsletter
Yes, You Need a License to Drive a Moped in Georgia
The number of ways to get around seems to be forever multiplying. It’s important to be informed about the rules and regulations for your chosen form of transport, and regulations for some of the less common options, like mopeds, are not as well-known.
What makes a moped a moped?
Before you can determine what’s required of you as a driver, you first have to determine what you’re driving. The Georgia Department of Driver Services defines a moped as “any motor-driven cycle with an engine not exceeding 50 cubic centimeters (3.05 cubic inches).” In essence, the size of the motor is what determines if the vehicle is a moped or its faster cousin, a scooter.
What’s required to drive a moped in Georgia?
There is a specific set of requirements for moped riders in Georgia, some of which differ from laws governing car and motorcycle drivers. The main requirements for moped operators are as follows:
- They are required to have a valid driver’s license or learner’s permit and must be at least 15 years old.
- They are required to wear appropriate protective headgear (i.e., a helmet).
- They can only drive on roads where the speed limit is 35 mph or less.
- They may not exceed a speed of 30 mph.
- They must obey all traffic laws.
Interestingly, in Georgia, there are two things that are not required: Mopeds do not need to be registered with the department of motor vehicles, and moped operators are not required to carry insurance,” said Marietta accident lawyer Ramiro Rodriguez, Jr.
What’s the difference between a moped and a scooter?
Though the two are commonly confused, mopeds are different from scooters. The size of the motor is the important factor Georgia state law uses to distinguish between them. A scooter is a motor-driven vehicle with an engine larger than 50 cubic centimeters, while a moped has an engine smaller than 50 cubic centimeters, as mentioned above.
Under Georgia state law, scooters are treated like motorcycles, and the two have the same licensing, registration, and insurance requirements, which are akin to what’s required of car drivers. Additionally, scooter riders must be at least 17 years old.
If you’re ready to downside your rig and feel the wind at your back on a moped, make sure you know the state laws first and follow them while you enjoy your (slow) ride.
Request a consultation with us by calling (770) 766-0555 or by contacting us here. Hablamos español.
GA Injury Advocates
Latest posts by GA Injury Advocates (see all)
- What Are Your Options If You Drug Tested Positive After a Work Injury? - September 6, 2023